How to create reusable content with Synced Blocks in Squarespace

Synced blocks or Reusable blocks are saved content blocks that you can reuse across your Squarespace website, by editing the content in a central places, you can update all of its instance without manually keep the content consistence, this is not only boost your effiecency, save time but also maintain persistence on the style

Blocs synchronisés plugin use a Reusables blog collection to store all your reusable content as its blog posts, and you can reuse them across your site by using Summary block that link to the Reusables collection, filtered by the uinque tag assigned to the posts

How to create synced block

Create Reusables blog collection

  1. Ouvrez le Panneau Pages, then click the + icon.

  2. Under Collections, click Blog.

  3. Select any Blog layout you want

  4. Enter a page title as Éléments réutilisables, then press Enter. You can change this to any name you see fit

  5. Hover the blog item in Pages, and clear the Gear icon to open blog settings

  6. In General tab, ensure the URL Slug input is /reusables, This is required for the plugin to correctly sync the content

Create Reusables blog collection

Create Éléments réutilisables blog collection

Create sync content block

You can create sync content block by inserting new blog post to Éléments réutilisables blog collection and add a block to its body

  1. Ouvrez le Panneau Pages, click the Éléments réutilisables blog page, then click + in the side panel.

  2. Add a title for your post in the Enter a post title... field. Post title will also change the blog post URL Slug

  3. To add block to the post, click an insert point and choose the block from Block Selector

  4. After done, click Publish to publish the new post

Add new Resuables blog post

Add new Éléments réutilisables blog post

Update sync content block

You can update sync content block by editting an existing Éléments réutilisables post post

  1. Ouvrez le Éléments réutilisables blog page, then click the blog post in the side panel.

  2. Click Modifier in the top-left corner of the page. 

  3. After making changes, click Enregistrer to save your changes

Update Resuables blog post

Update Éléments réutilisables blog post

Sync content

To sync content and populate it across instances, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Reusables blog page and select the desired blog post from the side panel.

  2. Hover over the blog post, click the three-dot icon, and select Paramètres to open the settings dialog.

  3. Click the Synchroniser le contenu button to initiate the sync process.

Initiate the sync content process

Initiate the sync content process

What Happens When You Sync Content?

  • The first block in the blog post’s body is synced across pages.

  • Additionally, a post tag is automatically generated from the blog post’s slug URL. This tag is used to identify the post when reusing it on other pages with a Summary block.

Auto generated tag from Reusables slug

Auto generated tag from Éléments réutilisables post slug

When to Trigger Sync Content?

  • When a post is created.

  • When a post is updated.

  • If the URL slug changes. (Note: Changing the slug after published is not recommended. To avoid disruptions, carefully choose the blog name and URL slug during the creation of a Reusable post and avoid altering the slug after the initial setup.)

Reuse content across pages

To reuse synced content, add a Summary block linked to the Éléments réutilisables collection and filter it using the assigned tag. Follow these steps:

  1. Click Modifier on a page or post, click Add Block or an insert point, then click Summary.

  2. Open the block editor by clicking the pencil icon on the block.

  3. Dans le Contenu tab:

    • Choose Éléments réutilisables under Select a Page.

    • Définir Primary Metadata à None.

    • Enable Filter Items and locate the unique tag assigned to your Reusables content.

  4. Dans le Design tab:

    • Change the design to List.

    • Définir Number of Items à 1.

  5. In Elements, ensure Titre et Excerpt are selected.

  6. Click outside the block editor when you're done.

  7. Click Enregistrer to save your changes and keep editing, or click Exit and then Enregistrer to close the editor.

Reuse synced blocks

Reuse Synced blocks

Conclusion

Blocs synchronisés plugin provides a powerful way to streamline your Squarespace workflow, maintain design consistency, and save time. Whether you’re managing frequently updated content or simply want to ensure uniformity across your site, Blocs synchronisés make the process seamlessly.

For more ideas on how to use Synced Blocks effectively, check out:

Beyondspace

As a Squarespace Circle member, Beyondspace delivers plugins that elevate your website, streamline workflows, and optimize the Editor experience—saving time and driving engagement.

https://beyondspace.studio
Précédent
Précédent

Utilisation efficace des blocs synchronisés dans Squarespace

Suivant
Suivant

Unlocking the Power of Synced Blocks on Squarespace